words #27

I keep apples in my refrigerator
and pistachio ice cream in the freezer.
I very rarely keep my plums in either
because I never save my plums for later.

I don’t want to be a plum curator,
but I’m a ferocious and devoted reader.
I keep apples in my refrigerator
and pistachio ice cream in the freezer.

I yearn to save my plums for later
and watch white chickens at my leisure
with words, ideas, and things my measure,
but I must follow along my own equator.
I keep apples in my refrigerator.


Today’s words are a rondel, which is a French lyric form from the 14th century. Refrigerators, which I like to try to spell with a “d,” much to the chagrin of autocorrect, always remind me of William Carlos Williams. He makes me wish I liked plums more.

2 thoughts on “words #27

Leave a Reply

